Poland, officially the Republic of Poland (Polish: Rzeczpospolita Polska), is a country in Central Europe, bordered by Germany to the west; the Czech Republic and Slovakia to the south; Ukraine and Belarus to the east; and the Baltic Sea, Kaliningrad Oblast (a Russian exclave) and Lithuania to the north. Poland is a democratic country and the dominant religion is Catholicism.

The total area of Poland is 312,679 square kilometres (120,726 sq mi), making it the 71st largest country in the world and the 9th largest in Europe.

With a population of over 38.5 million people Poland is the sixth most populous member of the European Union, as well as the most populous post-communist member of the European Union. Poland is a unitary state divided into 16 administrative subdivisions.

Despite the vast casualties and destruction the country experienced during World War II, Poland managed to preserve much of its cultural wealth. There are 14 heritage sites inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage and 54 Historical Monuments and many objects of cultural heritage in Poland. The country is visited by nearly 16 million tourists every year (2013), which makes it one of the most visited countries in the world. Furthermore, according to the Global Peace Index for 2014, Poland is one of the Safest Countries in the world to live in.

Poland is a very diverse geographically country. From the north our country borders the Baltic Sea, then extends streak lake districts and lowlands until we go through the foothills of the mountainous areas, which constitute the Carpathians and the Sudeten on the south of the country.